Class · Review · Sewing

Tuesdays with Gertie: Cutting Out the Skirt

This year I’m sewing along with Gertie from Gertie’s New Blog for Better Sewing. A bunch of other talented seamsters and I have joined up through the Craftsy online community to make perfectly fitted bombshell dresses. Here’s a reflection on my efforts to sew well.

This week’s video was all about the skirt. I traced the pattern onto my fabric using white wax tracing paper.  If you squint at the photo above, you can just see the dotted lines (and huge seam allowances that I left for now).  Though Gertie discusses different skirt options, I chose to make the sarong skirt that’s part of the actual BurdaStyle pattern, minus the little extra poof at the hip.

Also, take a look at how this dress fits this model. On her the little space in between the bra cups is definitely not sitting flush.  Maybe her dress is not “perfectly fitted”, but at least this image suggests that anything goes, right?

4 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Gertie: Cutting Out the Skirt

  1. Gettin close! I just found the issue of Burda that features this dress while I was cleaning up, and I think there are two models wearing it. It looks totally different in the bust area on each one. Here the model really looks like she’s not getting enough coverage all around the bust.

  2. Oh my! The model’s dress looks like it could fall off any moment! I haven’t fitted my bombshell dress yet, though I’ve had it cut out for a while. I must say you are inspiring me to get working on it!

  3. Hi there, thanks for fabulous posts and leading me to the Renfrew pattern! Do you know about Versatile Blogger Award? I was passed on the award and I have nominated your fabulous blog for the award. If you are interested in it, please visit my blog to see the rules to follow.

Leave a comment