Community

MMMMonday: May 13th through 19th

This May I’m joining Zoe at ‘So, Zo…’ in a challenge to wear something handmade every day for thirty-one days. This post marks the third update of my progress.

MMM13Day13

May 13, 2013

What: The Vibrant Red Skirt

Where: To work.  Then over to a neighbor’s to catch up on yesterday’s Game of Thrones episode.

~~~

MMM13Day14

May 14, 2013

What: The Silk Paco Peralta Draped Top

Where: To work.  Work was followed by track practice (where I did not wear the silk shirt!), which saved an otherwise dull day.

~~~

MMM13Day15

May 15, 2013

What: The Secret Garden Pleated Skirt

Where: To another long day of work.  All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

~~~

MMM13Day16

May 16, 2013

What: The Cavalli Drape Drape Cowl

Where: To work, yet again.  Today was highlighted by lunch with friends.  Oh, how I will miss my ladies who lunch after the move.

~~~

MMM13Day17

May 17, 2013

What: The Plain Jane A-Line Skirt

Where: On a cross-country flight to Gettysburg, Pennsylvania to celebrate my husband’s sister’s college graduation.  Today’s theme was ‘hat’, and I was stumped as to what to do until I saw that our wonderful bed and breakfast had several awesome hats on display near the front door.  I  just loved this crazy pink one!

~~~

MMM13Day18

May 18, 2013

What: The Gridlock Faux-Wrap Dress

Where: Around Gettysburg.  I had a great day exploring the historic town on foot in between the receptions and meals being hosted in honor of my sister-in-law and the rest of her graduating class.

~~~

MMM13Day19

May 19, 2013

What: The Silk Pajama Party Bottoms

Where: At home after another long day of travel.  I had intended on wearing my Spots and Stripes Tessuti Dress for graduation in the morning, but it has developed a bit of a stretched neckline, and I just didn’t have time to fix it before we left.  (I’m sure no one would have noticed, particularly since it was too chilly to wear without a cardigan, so I should have just brought it!)  Instead, I wore a favorite ready-to-wear dress.  I thought I’d change into something handmade after the ceremony before we headed to the airport, but we ran out of time.  So, when we got home at the end of the long travel day, I made up for the lack of a handmade garment during the day by wearing one all night!

~~~

Reflections on the week:

  • Life has gotten so hectic.  I’m having a hard time focusing on the meaning of the month when there are so many other things I need to juggle.  I’d made an secret goal to wear something unique every day since I’ve now made quite a lot of things, but I’m finding it really hard to channel any kind of creativity.  For my own sanity I might just start rewearing handmade garments instead of trying to figure out how to wear all the skirts and dresses I’ve made in my jeans-and-t-shirt work environment.
  • This month really makes me think about what I like to wear.  I’ve always been a pants person, but I’ve enjoyed wearing more skirts this month.  That said, I like skirts like the red one (though I thought it sat closer to my natural waist than it appears to be above – hmmm…), but I don’t wear the pleated skirt much.  I think I may turn the pleated skirt into some sort of top so that the beautiful fabric sees more sun and make more skirts like the red one.
  • The first zipper I ever sewed into a garment was in the Plain Jane A-Line Skirt.  I sewed it in just like I’d done for the bags I’d made, which means the zipper teeth are exposed.  And, not in an awesome exposed zipper way.  That, choosing the wrong fabric for the facing, and the weird hem are good reminders of how far I’ve come in my sewing over the past two years.  It’s a great, wearable skirt, but it’s definitely hand made!

4 thoughts on “MMMMonday: May 13th through 19th

  1. Those are lovely, Amy. I really like the red skirt on you too. You definitely should make more like those. A great look for both work and play, I think 🙂

  2. It was a great MM week for you! I think you should do whatever makes you happy in regards to you MM goals – a cross-country move is no easy task.

  3. I love that red skirt too. Its great and the cut would be very flattering on many body types. You finished it well. Its fun to wear handmade items because they are always unique and you never see anyone else in exactly the same item. your “wrap” dress is also really cute.

    Thanks,
    Tiffany
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/CurvyTiffy

Leave a comment