Community · Sewing

Crescent Skirt Sew-Along: The First Hint of a Skirt

During the second half of April and into May, I’m sewing along with Tasia at Sewaholic.net. A bunch of other talented seamsters and I are all making her just-released Crescent skirt pattern. Here’s a reflection on my efforts to sew well.

After yesterday’s baby step of sewing the skirt to the waistband, we’ve finally come to the point in the Crescent skirt Sew-Along where our neat little pieces of fabric hint at a skirt.

As I wrote earlier, I’m using an Italian satin organza for this skirt.  Tasia’s fabric of choice is cotton, but I think this organza is a beautiful match for the pattern.

Since I’ve never worked with satin organza before, I’m closely following the guidelines from Sandra Betzina’s More Fabric Savvy.  I preshrunk the fabric to make it slightly softer, then cut out the fabric pieces with a rotary cutter, mat, and weights.  I took great care here, pressing down as I cut to ensure that the fabric didn’t warp.  I cut the interfacing and facing pieces from white silk organza to keep the semi-transparent white flowers on the front waistband crisp.  Finally, I’ve taken care to use narrow French seams.

I’m very happy with this hint of a skirt.  Thanks, Tasia, for all the work you’ve put into this wonderful Sew-Along so far.

2 thoughts on “Crescent Skirt Sew-Along: The First Hint of a Skirt

Leave a comment