Community · Finished Project · Sewing

Tessuti Awards: Spots and Stripes

My spots-and-stripes dress has now been entered into the Tessuti Awards. I’m not going to be shy and admit that I’d like your vote for a Visitor’s Choice prize. It’s easy. All you have to do is just click on this sentence and then click on the 5th heart.  No signing up or promising of first born children or anything.

This dress’s story begins way back when this year’s Tessuti Awards theme was announced. I browsed through the Tessuti fabrics eligible for the contest since I wanted to see what the possibilities were.

When I saw the Spot on Navy silk twill, I was inspired to look for a complementary stripe. When I saw the Navy Line, also a silk twill, I knew I had my fabrics… if I were going to enter, but of course I wasn’t.

I made a sketch of the dress I’d want to make anyway. I showed it to my husband, who promptly encouraged me to go for it. Because of him I had my first inkling of maybe-I-will-enter.

Then Tessuti Fabrics had a sale. And, I decided to go for it.

The pattern choice was easy since Vogue V8280 pretty much fit my design perfectly.  I mixed view A with view D and added a horizontal seam across the back.

I underlined the silk twill with silk organza and lined with silk crepe de chine. I used an invisible zipper and finished the dress off with red hem lace for a bit of fun.  During construction everything was going swimmingly until I tried to take a short cut. I won’t go into it now since I want to focus on the finished dress, but let’s just say there were tears.

My husband and I went out for photos today, but we didn’t make it to any of the fun places you guys suggested. We talked as if we were going to go to the Palace of Fine Arts, but then I chickened out since I figured it would be too crowded for me to be comfortable. We brainstormed how to pull off photos at the old movie theater down the street from us, but we figured the best photos there would need fancy lighting. So, we just went for a walk instead at dusk with the hope that we’d be inspired.

When I saw this wall, I got excited that we’d at least be able to try out the “orange wall” suggestion of yours. It was lit from underneath, which made for a fun legs-on-fire effect. I quite like it.

To those of you who do take the time to vote: thank you from the bottom of my heart. And, even if I don’t even come close to winning, I always have such fun participating in these kinds of things.

44 thoughts on “Tessuti Awards: Spots and Stripes

  1. The orange wall looks fantastic with the dress and your colouring. The dress of course is lovely and I have voted for you so fingers crossed. You look as though you thoroughly enjoy wearing it too.

  2. I am bowled over! Your dress is absolutely beautiful, and with all that silk it must be wonderful to wear. I have of course voted for you. Nobody can beat that creation of yours! Good Luch :_)

  3. Even if you don’t win Tessuti’s award, you deserve one and your readers all agree. You did a fabulous job – your dress is beautiful and fits perfectly. Congratulations – you are a winner!

  4. Amy, what a fantastic fit! I love the pairing of the two fabrics, really makes the dress even more striking. And terrific photos too! I thought two of those photos are of you at a mission since it looks like a few I visited in SoCal. 🙂 Great job and I’ll definitely be voting for you!!

  5. Oh, what a gorgeous dress! I love the two prints together, and you placed them very smartly. I think my favorite detail is the upper back & front armhole done in the stripe. Sculptural, yet feminine. So stylish!

  6. Your dressed to turned out fantastic, and how exciting to be in the competition. I am a fan of print mixing and yours is very subtle and classic. I think the horizontal seam on the back is awesome.

  7. This is so, so beautiful. You’re such an inspiration. I love how the stripes at the shoulders and upper back almost form a little bolero. The care you’ve taken is staggering. I wish you the very best of luck in the Tessuti awards. I thought about entering myself but then became concerned at the costs of ordering and shipping fabric to the UK. I didn’t even think about the sale! I’ll be watching the results with great interest!

  8. After two weeks away from email, I opened your fabulous post and immediately cast the 154th vote for your dress……. Oh my, how beautiful! Wait……. did I see this dress in one of those chic boutique windows in Rome? 🙂 Congratulations on this beautiful creation!

  9. I looked at all the other entries and decided that yours was the best of all for many reasons. Your fit was excellent, finishing so good that the inside looked as good as the outside, your choice of fabric pattern and color was great. I’d love to have that dress myself. I voted for you hope you win.

  10. Amy, this is a lovely, lovely dress! I’m so glad a blogger I know entered the contest! I hope it’s not too late to vote–I’ve been away from blogging for a few weeks ;). Again, well done!

Leave a comment